Lake Easton winter camping moves to the parking lots: which rigs go where
Lake Easton's campgrounds close at 1 p.m. Nov. 1. This rig-type card sorts winter campers between boat-launch and day-use parking and marks the unknowns.
Lake Easton State Park has shifted winter camping out of its campgrounds and into two parking areas. The useful question is not simply whether camping remains allowed. It is which lot fits the way your rig travels.
The campground closes at 1 p.m. November 1
Washington State Parks says all Lake Easton campgrounds close at 1 p.m. on November 1, 2026. After that cutoff, the park authorizes camping in two places: boat-launch parking and the day-use lot. The alert was posted October 30 and is scheduled to end May 15, 2027.[1]
That end date is the alert's timestamp, not a promised campground reopening date. Treat the live alert and signs in the park as the current instructions.[1]
A rig-type decision card
The park gives two placement rules: trailers go to the boat launch, while single vehicles may use the day-use lot. A separate rule sends every vehicle longer than 20 feet to the boat-launch lot.[1] Put those together and the choice looks like this:
| What arrives | Parking area indicated by the official page | Decision note |
|---|---|---|
| Travel trailer or fifth-wheel combination | Boat-launch parking | The trailer rule is direct. Do not split the tow vehicle and trailer between lots unless posted instructions allow it. |
| Camper van, truck camper or other single vehicle 20 feet or shorter | Day-use parking may fit the stated rule | Check the signs on arrival; the page allows single vehicles there but does not promise a particular space. |
| Motorhome or other single vehicle longer than 20 feet | Boat-launch parking | The over-20-foot rule overrides the general single-vehicle direction. |
| Unusual combination or rig right at the 20-foot boundary | Do not guess from the table | Use the posted park instructions before settling in. |
This is a routing card, not a site-fit chart. The official page does not publish parking-space dimensions, turning clearances or a count of winter camping positions.[1]
The service plan is still blank
The park page describes amenities for the regular campgrounds, but it does not say those services carry over to overnight parking-area camping.[1] Plan around the gaps rather than borrowing campground details:
- Hookups: not stated for either winter parking area.
- Camping fee: not stated for this parking-area arrangement. The page lists several general park fees, but it does not identify one as the occupied-RV overnight fee.[1]
- Reservations: the page has a general reservations link, but it does not say whether winter parking-area spaces are reservable.[1]
- Generators: no parking-area rule or operating window is stated on the page.[1]
- Snow access: the page says groomed Sno-Park trails may be available from December through March when snow is adequate. It does not promise that either overnight lot will be plowed, clear or reachable for a particular rig.[1]
One winter cost is explicit. From December 1 to March 31, Lake Easton requires a Sno-Park permit, and the Discover Pass does not apply.[1] That permit rule does not answer whether a separate camping charge applies.
Before turning off I-90
Reopen the park page close to departure. If the alert has changed, use the newer notice rather than this article. On arrival, follow the posted routing because the alert itself tells campers to do so.[1]
Measure the traveling vehicle, not just the living compartment, when applying the 20-foot rule. Towables already have a direct answer: boat launch. For a single vehicle, crossing 20 feet changes the indicated lot.
Until the park states otherwise, arrive able to camp without hookups and without assuming generator use. If the trip depends on a reservation, a fee amount, a plowed approach or overnight power, settle that unknown with the park before leaving. The official page provides the current alert and park contact details.[1]
Source note: RVCamping.info archived the full official page on 2026-11-01. The rig-type routing card and the separation of known rules from unresolved service questions are original editorial work.
Sources
- Lake Easton State Park — Washington State Parks — Current park alert, winter rules, fees and access notes; accessed and archived 2026-11-01.
What's Your Reaction?